Sunday, December 12, 2010

Russian Line Infantry, Seven Years' War (2)

There were 46 musketeer regiments -- the number cited will vary, depending on source and year. Each of these consisted of three musketeer battalions and two grenadier companies. The musketeer regiments for the most part had territorial designations, such as the names of cities, towns, and provinces. When musketeer regiments were assigned to field armies, they generally sent two battalions, retaining the third as a depot battalion. The grenadier companies were told off to the grenadier regiments and served separately from their parent regiments. In the field armies, an infantry brigade typically consisted of four battalions, two each drawn from two musketeer regiments.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.